Middle Eastern Birthday Feast

The Middle Eastern Birthday Feast was a menu I put together for my boyfriend’s birthday party. I wanted to maintain a vegetarian spread but also bring in strong flavors, not to mention feed a bunch of non-vegetarian guys happily. I’m happy to say that it all went well.

I planned on feeding about 12-15 guests over a period of a few hours. That’s a lot of food! I didn’t make everything myself. Some things, like the hummus, I bought and doctored up. I had fully intended on making everything myself but found that it was just too much and had to cut some corners. So whatever I bought pre-made was the best quality and used as a base. I also had some challenges with some things and didn’t end up serving them, like the Kofte. I still have no idea what I did wrong, but I won’t be making those again for awhile. I had also intended on making Vegetarian Manti but didn’t due to a lack of time and the fact that my shoebox sized kitchen was full of other food.

All in all, I think it turned out great. Everyone loved the food and gobbled it up.

For some reason, I didn’t take any pictures. I guess I was just too busy.

Here is a list of links to each of the recipes. Feel free to cut them in half or double them depending how many people you’re feeding.

  • Tomatoes stuffed with Wheatberry SaladRecipe coming soon. These were delicious, but a lot of work. Not sure I’ll do them again.
  • Dolmates – I bought these pre-made, from a can. Next time I will get them from a deli.
  • Spicy Hummus and Vegetables for Dipping – I bought plain, pre-made hummus and added a few other flavors to make it my own.
  • Babaganoush with Pita – Though I aspire to make this home-made some day, I bought this pre-made as well. No doctoring.
  • Grilled Beets and Halloumi Cheese Salad – I made this up completely and it was yummy.  I’d make a few changes though.
  • Cucumber and Pomegranate Salad
  • Grilled Vegetable Moussaka
  • Mujadarra – This recipe is courtesy of Herbivoracious.
  • Red Lentil Kofte – This recipe is courtesy of Food and Wine. I have no idea what went wrong.
  • Garlic Cucumber Yogurt Sauce – This is just my regular recipe for a Middle Eastern cucumber sauce. I love to add extra garlic.
  • Red Pepper Sauce – This one was a challenge. I couldn’t find what I was looking for, which was Muhammara, a spicy red pepper dip found throughout the Middle East. I really, really wanted the real thing. I’d never had and I wanting to try it, but I couldn’t find it. I wound up buying something called Schug from my local Middle Easter Market. Its a hot pepper spread loaded with peppers. It’s super hot, but also has flavor.
Leave a Reply

