More Thanksgiving Ramblings…still no turkey

I came across a couple of photos from last years Thanksgiving feast. We had the Hazelnut and Cranberry Roast en Croute from Field Roast along with some traditional sides like sauteed squash, candied sweet potatoes, roasted brussels sprouts, mashed potatoes with mushroom gravy, creamed spinach and stuffing. The roast was pretty tasty with a ‘sausage’ and cranberry stuffing and I think it was a fine alternative to the bird. It was a bit pricey though.

When I look at last years menu compared to this years menu I am surprised to see the differences. In all of the years I’ve celebrated Thanksgiving at home with my family (in Florida) we’ve ALWAYS had sauteed squash and candied sweet potatoes. I suppose in my mind those are some of the staples for my family’s turkey day celebration. There are many others too, but those stick out out in my mind. I don’t have either of those on this years menu, though I do have green beans. I am making a green bean casserole. I don’t ever remember having a green bean casserole at family gatherings, though we always have my grandmas southern style green beans with salt pork. That is another staple of my family’s meal. Actually, I’ve seen some serious distress in family members at the idea of not having those green beans :).

I don’t get to celebrate Thanksgiving with my family much anymore, because I’m in New York and they are in Florida. Thanksgiving is my absolute favorite holiday because of the wonderful memories I have of spending time with my family and cooking and eating and just being together. And so I celebrate with them in my heart. And though for many years I held on to my family’s traditions of sauteed squash, candied sweet potatoes and green beans, I suppose it’s only natural for me to experiment with other dishes and start my own traditions.

So here’s to starting your own traditions and spending time with people you love and a birdless Thanksgiving!

Let’s get cooking!

Leave a Reply

