Oh So Delicious Vegan Cornbread

I’m pretty sure my family is going to disown me for this recipe. With my family being from the south, by way of Tennessee and Kentucky, there are certain cornbread making standards. And, though I tend to make my regular cornbread a little differently than my grandma’s, it’s only because I cannot seem to replicate hers and so, I just don’t try anymore.

As for this recipe, once my vegetarian Thanksgiving menu turned into a vegan one, I did a ton of research on vegan cornbread and this is what I came up with. All in all, it’s pretty tasty and I’m happy with the results. We’ll see how Steve likes it though, because he’s a cornbread fiend. There’s a slight sweetness to it from the maple syrup and a nice grainy, yet moist cakey texture. I could go with or without the fresh corn kernels, but thought it would be a nice addition since this cornbread is destined for stuffing. The only thing I would change would be to buy fresh baking powder as it didn’t seem to rise much.

I make cornbread a lot. A couple of times a month or so and I’ll definitely be making this one more often. The fact that it’s vegan is awesome and it didn’t take any extra effort or obscure ingredients.

Enjoy!

Recipe

  • Soymilk, scant 2 cups
  • Apple Cider Vinegar, 2 tbsps.
  • Cornmeal, 2 cups, preferably medium grain
  • White Whole Wheat Flour, 1 cup unbleached
  • Baking powder, 2 teaspoons
  • Salt, 1/2 teaspoon
  • Cayenne Pepper, just a pinch
  • 1/3 cup oil
  • Unsweetened Applesauce, 1/3 cup
  • Maple syrup, 2 tablespoons
  • Corn kernels, from 2 medium ears fresh corn (about 1 cup)

Preheat oven to 350.

Spray a 9×13 baking pan with non-stick cooking spray and set aside.

To make vegan buttermilk, combine soymilk and vinegar in a glass bowl or large measuring cup and set aside.

Sift together the cornmeal, flour, baking powder, salt and cayenne in a large bowl. 
In a separate bowl, whisk together the soymilk mixture, oil and maple syrup. Stir the corn kernels into the wet mixture.

Combine the wet ingredients and the dry ingredients by slowly adding the wet ingredients to the dry ingredients. Mix well with a sturdy spoon. Transfer the batter to the prepared baking dish and bake for approximately 40 minutes, or until golden and cooked through. You can use a toothpick or butter knife, placed into the center of the cornbread to check and see if it has cooked all the way through. Either should come out clean.

Let the cornbread cool completely and then cut into ¾ inch cubes. Use the cubes to make the stuffing.

2 thoughts on “Oh So Delicious Vegan Cornbread

  1. Pingback: Pre-Thanksgiving Ramblings and no, there’s not a turkey… « under the influence of food

  2. Pingback: Vegan Apple Pecan Cornbread Stuffing « under the influence of food

Leave a Reply

