Roasted Cranberry Chutney

All I can say is YUM! This turned out so well that I might make more after Thanksgiving just to have around. I bet it would be great in oatmeal, on ice cream and definitely on biscuits.

My cranberry sauce memories all come from my Aunt Dixie. She’s probably reading this, so I hope I get it right :). She makes raw cranberry orange relish with fresh cranberries, orange and sugar all blended up in a food processor. It’s perfect and fresh and tangy and delicious. My recipe is inspired by her recipe, with my own fancy roasting twist. I used a cup of sugar here, but next time will likely cut that down to 3/4 of cup. I tend to like less sweet and more tart and fruity.

And speaking of sugar, there are a lot of vegans out there that don’t use regular white sugar, which is what I’ve used here. And I’m not a vegan, but am making a vegan Thanksgiving. I’ve done a bunch of research and can only say that I haven’t decided how I feel about the sugar thing yet. So for those of you out there that don’t use the white stuff or are new to the vegan thing, there are lot’s of regular sugar alternatives that you can use like Stevia, granulated fructose and lots of others.

Recipe

  • Cranberries, fresh, 12 oz.
  • Sugar, 3/4 – 1 cup
  • Orange Zest, from one orange
  • Orange Juice, from half of one
  • orange
  • 1/4 cup water

Pre-heat over to 350 degrees.

Combine all ingredients in a baking dish and mix well. Roast for 20-30 minutes, stirring once, or until some of the cranberries start bursting. Remove from the oven and set aside for about half an hour to cool and thicken. Stir well and refrigerate or serve.

6 thoughts on “Roasted Cranberry Chutney

  1. Pingback: Pre-Thanksgiving Ramblings and no, there’s not a turkey… « under the influence of food

  2. Pingback: Vegan Sweet Potato Biscuits « under the influence of food

  3. Pingback: Simple, Simple, Simple (and vegan) Apple Tart « under the influence of food

  4. Pingback: Pilgrim Pie, a Thanksgiving Leftover Casserole « under the influence of food

  5. Pingback: Pilgrim Pie, a Thanksgiving Leftover Casserole « under the influence of food

  6. Pingback: Biscuits, Babies & Fall | under the influence of food

Leave a Reply

