Vegan Apple Pecan Cornbread Stuffing

This is my first cornbread stuffing. I’ve always hesitated to make cornbread stuffing because I wasn’t sure about the texture of cornbread in a stuffing. I know it’s a fairly traditional way to make stuffing, but I’m used to using regular bread which is lighter and fluffier.

This stuffing turned out really well. The combination of cornbread, fresh herbs sweet, tart apples and cranberries and toasty pecans was delicious. It also made a ton! Lucky for me, stuffing is freezer friendly.

As for the ‘veganism’ of it, I don’t typically use any animal products in my stuffing except for butter so I switched out regular butter for vegan butter (Earth Balance). And even though I don’t generally add eggs, I thought I’d add the ground flax egg substitute for a little binding action. This was my first time using flaxseed in this way and I think it lent just the perfect amount of binding to have smallish chunks of stuffing with all of the yummy apples and cranberries included.

Vegan Apple Pecan Cornbread Stuffing

  • Flax seed, 2 tbsp. ground
  • Vegetable stock, 1 cup
  • Olive Oil, 1 tbsp.
  • Onion, large, diced
  • Celery, 2 stalks, diced
  • Garlic, 4 cloves
  • Pecans, ½ cup, toasted and chopped
  • Cornbread, 6 cups, cubed
  • Cranberries, dried, ½ cup
  • Apple, 1 Granny Smith, diced
  • Sage, 2 teaspoons fresh, minced
  • Rosemary, 2 teaspoons fresh, minced
  • Thyme, 2 teaspoons fresh, minced
  • Savory, 2 teaspoons fresh, minced

Pre-heat oven to 350 degrees.

Grind flax seed and mix with hot vegetable stock. Set aside.

Heat olive oil in a large skillet over medium high heat. Add onions and celery and cook until translucent.

While onions and celery are cooking, heat a small skillet over low heat and toast pecans. Set aside.

In an extra large bowl combine cornbread, cranberries, apple, herbs, and onion mixture and pecans. Drizzle evenly with flax seed mixture and toss lightly, being sure not to break up the cornbread too much. Transfer mixture to a baking dish and bake for 30-45 or until golden.

3 thoughts on “Vegan Apple Pecan Cornbread Stuffing

  1. Pingback: Pre-Thanksgiving Ramblings and no, there’s not a turkey… « under the influence of food

  2. Pingback: Pilgrim Pie, a Thanksgiving Leftover Casserole « under the influence of food

Leave a Reply

