Vegan Green Bean Casserole

I’ve never made green bean casserole and I think I’ve only eaten once. I love green beans, but green bean casserole has never really appealed to me. I suppose green bean casserole always represented canned, greyish green beans in a mushy kind of sauce and baked until everything is mushier. Bleh!

I’m happy to say that with this recipe, I’m a convert. As a matter of fact, I could probably eat this everyday for the rest of my life and die happy. Oh, and those crunchy onion things, yum. I don’t think I’ve had those either! Since I’ve not much experience with green bean casserole, I don’t know how to compare it with my vegan version. But it was so, so delicious that I don’t see a point in making it any other way anyway. So here’s the recipe. Go and make it. It’s not just for holidays AND use whatever vegetable you like. You could use zucchini, Brussels sprouts, peas, anything.

Vegan Green Bean Casserole

  • Green Beans, 1 lb.
  • Crispy Onions, 1 can
  • Vegan Mushroom Gravy, approximately 1 cup
  • Soy sauce, 1 tsp.
  • Vegan sour cream, ¼ cup
  • Nutritional Yeast, 2 tbsp.
  • Fresh cracked pepper

Clean green beans by removing stem ends. You can do this by cutting or snapping just the ends off. Then, bring a large pot of water to a rolling boil. Add the green beans, stirring gently once to insure they are all submerged. Let the water return to a rolling boil and cook for 1 minute. Drain the green beans and rinse very well with cold water. I have a sprayer nozzle on my sink, which really helps me to rinse them quickly and evenly. Alternatively, you can drain the green beans and place them in a large bowl of ice water. Either way, you are shocking them to stop the cooking process.

In large bowl combine the mushroom gravy, soy sauce, sour cream, black pepper and nutritional yeast, stir well. Add the green beans and half a can of crispy onions and toss together. Transfer mixture to a baking dish and bake at 350 degrees for about 20 minutes or until bubbly. Top with remaining crispy onions and bake another 5 minutes or so until the onions are golden.

7 thoughts on “Vegan Green Bean Casserole

  1. Pingback: Pre-Thanksgiving Ramblings and no, there’s not a turkey… « under the influence of food

  2. Pingback: Vegan Mushroom Gravy « under the influence of food

  3. Pingback: Pilgrim Pie, a Thanksgiving Leftover Casserole « under the influence of food

Leave a Reply

