Staples: Chipotle Pepper Sauce

One thing I always have in my freezer is chipotle pepper sauce. I add it to all kinds of things so I love to have it on hand. I add it to chili, tomato based sauces, soups and even tempeh and tofu marinades.

All you have to do is buy a can of chipotle peppers in adobo sauce, throw it in your food chopper and puree. Once it’s pureed, put in a jar or freezer safe tupperware, or even ice cube trays, and it’s ready whenever you need it.

I find that pureeing my chipotle peppers provides me with a lot more usable product that has a balanced flavor from the first spoonful to the last. There’s still plenty of heat going on too. Just a tablespoon worth is enough to add a subtle smokey heat and two tablespoons gives you a nice spicy chili.

3 thoughts on “Staples: Chipotle Pepper Sauce

  1. Pingback: African Peanut Stew with Quinoa « under the influence of food

  2. I love canned chipotles, I never need the whole can though. great idea about freezing the rest. I’ve run into some chipotle hot sauces (the fewer ingredients the better) which are a good additive to mayos and soups. I recently saw some dehydrated peppers in the mexican foods section at the grocery store. They had morita chiles, which are actually smoked jalapenos (chipotles without the adobo sauce). I roasted them slightly in a pan and ground them with the spice grinder, now I have smoky dried chipotle flakes at the ready.

  3. Pingback: Texturized Soy Protein + Basic Marinade | under the influence of food

Leave a Reply

