Pickled Squash

I’ve been wanting to make these for a long, long time. I’m so glad I finally did! These turned out so delicious, and just got better with time. I’ve been munching on this giant jar (3 quarts) of pickled squash for a couple of months now. They’re great in salads, as a side or as a snack.

I was apprehensive about this recipe. Mostly because I don’t know a lot about pickling. Between my boyfriend and I, we love pickles. Love, love, love them. But good ones are hard to find. So because I am who am, I decided the best thing to do would be to make my own. I tried my hand at pickling cucumbers and even carrots. But I didn’t love them. So while I’m trying to figure out the best combination of flavors for my cucumbers, I think I’ll stick to squash.

I know, maybe you’re thinking that if I can successfully pickle squash then I could do the same with cucumbers. But no, it didn’t work out that way. So until I find the right pickling spice blend for cucumbers, I’ll share my recipe for squash. Enjoy!

  • Patty Pan Squash*, 2 lbs., chopped into bite size pieces
  • Green Onions, 4, sliced
  • Garlic, 6 cloves, sliced about an 1/8th of an inch thick
  • Pickling Spice, 2 tbsp.
  • Kosher Salt, 2 tbsp.
  • Sugar, 1/2 cup
  • Vinegar, 2 cups
  • Water, 2 cups
  • Large mason jar or multiple smaller ones, with tight fitting lids

*You can use whatever squash you can find. I like pattypan because it’s shape lends to pretty, shapely portions. I cut mine in half horizontally, then cut them in eighths creating wedges.

In a medium pot combine pickling spice, salt, sugar, vinegar and water. Bring to a simmer and cook until the sugar and salt are dissolved. Remove from heat and set aside.

Layer the remaining ingredients, squash, green onions and garlic, in the jar. Slowly pour the pickling liquid in to the jar while occasionally adjusting the contents of the jar with a wooden spoon to help remove air bubbles and insure that you are using up all of the empty space.

Once you’ve added all of the liquid to the squash, set it aside and let it cool completely. This will take several hours, but is an important step in the process.

Once the ‘pickles’ have cooled place the lid on the jar, close tightly and refrigerate. Each day, for a week or so, turn the jar over and around (shake lightly) to ensure that the pickling liquid is getting to all of the vegetables in the jar. You’ll want to leave them in the refrigerator for at least a week, two is better, before indulging. I’ve had mine in the refrigerator for a couple of months and they’re still crisp, tart and delicious.

Leave a Reply

