Baked Butternut Squash Fries with Rosemary and Sea Salt

Butternut Squash FriesYou may not know this but, I’m a bit of a french fry junkie. And I have been for most of my life. I try to only enjoy them on occasion these days because unfortunately, they’re not very healthy. I’ve attempted to make baked ‘fries’ before, but they never really came out crispy enough (I like em crispy). Luckily, I recently mastered the art of the crispy baked french fry. Yay!

I had an abundance of butternut squash in my fridge this week, as well as a giant bunch of fresh rosemary, so I decided I’d make crispy baked butternut squash fries with fresh rosemary and sea salt. Wow, that’s a mouth full. Anyway, it’s super easy and fairly quick. Plus, I already had the oven on, so why not. Plus, Steve wanted a little amuse bouche while I was making dinner.

And since I’m here, let me give you an interesting fact or two about butternut squash. Did you know that butternut squash wasn’t sold commercially until the 1940’s? Also, butternut squash is loaded with fiber, potassium, magnesium, vitamins A & C and can be used in place pumpkin in any recipe.

Baked Butternut Squash Fries with Rosemary and Sea Salt

  • 1 large butternut squash, neck only
  • 1 tbsp. olive oil
  • 1 tbsp. fresh rosemary, chopped
  • 1/4 tsp. sea salt

Preheat the oven to 450 degrees. Peel the butternut squash and cut into 1/2 inch square sticks. It’s important that all of your fries are about the same size so that they cook evenly. Add them to a large bowl and toss well with olive oil, rosemary and sea salt. Place the squash in a single layer onto a large baking sheet, being mindful to leave a bit of space between each stick.

Bake for about 15 minutes, then flip and bake for another 10-15 minutes until golden on both sides. Remove from oven and serve. We had ours plain, but I imagine these would be great with a spicy ketchup.

Enjoy!

2 thoughts on “Baked Butternut Squash Fries with Rosemary and Sea Salt

Leave a Reply

