Barley and Edamame Salad with Lemon Thyme Vinaigrette

Barley and Edamame SaladEvery weekend I make a salad to eat off of throughout the week. I gives me a chance to be creative in the kitchen, use up leftover produce and also gives me something healthy and fulfilling to eat for lunch during the week. The point of this post is not so much the recipe, but the idea. You see, you can make a salad like this out of whatever you have in the house. Sometimes it’s barley, sometimes it quinoa, sometimes it beans and so on. Use whatever you like, mix in whatever veggies you have left in the fridge. Add some fresh herbs, and little home made vinaigrette and there you go. This recipe makes a quart, which is the perfect amount for topping my greens with throughout the week.

I didn’t go to the store and buy any of these ingredients. I had it all on hand. I actually had a piece of a bell pepper, a piece of an onion, one tiny little carrot and couple of cloves of garlic to work with. I also only had half of lemon, which is why I only used zest from half of a lemon. Plus, I really wanted to use this stuff up before they went bad. I had the edamame and the thyme in the freezer, and I used the last of my barley, which just happened to be about a cup dry.

Go clean out your fridge and see what you can make!

Barley & Edamame Salad with Lemon Thyme Vinaigrette

  • 2 tsp. Dijon mustard
  • 1 tbsp. fresh lemon juice
  • 1 tbsp. apple cider vinegar
  • 2 tbsp. olive oil
  • 2 tbsp. fresh thyme leaves, minced
  • Zest of half a lemon
  • 1/4 tsp. salt
  • Freshly ground black pepper
  • 3 1/2 cups cooked pearled barley
  • 2 cups shelled edamame
  • 1/2 red bell pepper, diced
  • 1 small carrot, shredded
  • 1 small purple onion, finely diced
  • 2 cloves garlic, minced

Combine Dijon mustard, lemon juice, vinegar, olive oil, thyme, lemon zest, salt and pepper to a small bowl and mix well. Add the remaining ingredients to a large bowl and toss thoroughly with the vinaigrette.

The longer this sits in the fridge, the better it tastes.

Enjoy!

One thought on “Barley and Edamame Salad with Lemon Thyme Vinaigrette

  1. Pingback: Sundays in my Kitchen | under the influence of food

Leave a Reply

