Almond Butter

As I was making my standard weekly batch of almond butter it occurred to me that I’ve never done a post about almond butter. I’ve mentioned that I make my own, but never shown you how. Well today’s your lucky day! Okay, maybe not your lucky day. But a good day, nonetheless.Almond Butter2

I love almond butter. Before I discovered almond butter, I loved peanut butter. By love, I mean that I eat it nearly everyday. I’ve eaten almond butter or peanut butter nearly everyday for as long as I can remember. I don’t really remember eating it when I was a child, but certainly since I was a teenager and since. And since I’ve started eating almond butter, I’ve almost eaten it exclusively (instead of the previously loved peanut butter). I do use peanut butter for cooking on occasion and always have a jar in the fridge just in case. But almond butter’s my thing.

Anyway, when I finally started making my own almond butter, about a year and a half ago, I was so excited. I’d wanted to start making it sooner, but I didn’t have a food processor. I actually finally bought a food processor for the sole purpose of making almond butter. Gladly, I use it for tons of things now. One of the reasons I wanted to start making my own is because the only store bought almond butter that I found I liked was the roasted unsalted from Trader Joes. And getting to Trader Joes on a weekly basis was not something I was able to do. So I would go once a month and buy 4 or 5 jars at a time. If they had it in stock. Which often enough, they did not. Trader Joe’s was also a good option because the almond butter was about $5 a jar, which was a bargain since many of the others I’d found were upwards of $10 or more per jar. I’d even gone to Whole Foods and Fairway to grind my own. But I didn’t like the taste or texture of those either. Since I was eating almond butter nearly everyday, almond butter was a BIG part of my food life (and still is).

So I bought a food processor and found a great little specialty market, Carmel Grocery, sort of near my house where I started buying raw almonds for 5.49 a lb. Also, a huge bargain. I think they’re like $5.99 now, but still…

Now that I’ve gone on and on, let me tell you how to make it. It’s incredibly easy, if you have a good food processor. I like to start with raw almonds and roast them myself. I just think it’s better that way.

  • 1 lb. raw almonds
  • Pinch of cinnamon (optional)

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Spread out the almonds on a baking sheet. Roast for 12 minutes. Turn off the oven (don’t open it). Let the almonds sit in the oven for 5 more minutes. Then remove from oven and let cool completely. Ovens vary, so adjust your roasting time as necessary. But don’t roast them for too long because the almond butter won’t be nearly as delicious.

Once the almonds have cooled completely, dump them in the bowl of your food processor and add a pinch of cinnamon, if you like. Secure the lid and turn on full power. Grind for 1 and a half minutes or until the the almonds stop moving around the bowl of the food processor. Use a spoon to thoroughly break up the mass of almonds.

Secure the lid and turn the food processor back on. Grind for another 5-6 minutes or until the almonds are fully ground and moving very freely and evenly around the bowl.

Then, blend it for another 30 seconds.

Transfer the almond butter to a 16 oz. jar, put a lid on it and store in the fridge. This will last for several weeks, though I’m sure you’ll eat it all up before then.

Enjoy!

 

6 thoughts on “Almond Butter

Leave a Reply

